LAPC 221#221 – Flower Favourites – and Why?

I must have flowers, always, and always.
― Claude Monet

This week I hope will bring some colourful joy to us all – we will have more Favourite Flowers than ever! And, should it not be flower season where you are, you are welcome to share other beautiful or interesting plants that you love. If there is a story to go with them, we’d love you to share it with us.

My first choice, in the header, must be a Cattleya Iwanagaara Appleblossom – this was my favourite for many years, but sadly it died last year. Then…tough choices for me as I love many flowers! I will not complain if you too find it difficult…

I love the white Magnolia in my garden. Maybe the reason for loving these flowers has to do with its extreme fragility in our climate. The first Spring flowers, the anemonies, can take several days of frost and bad weather, but most years we lose the magnolias after a day or two – because of the cold.

Our greatest favourites in Sweden must be the shy blue anemonies. We even poke around last year’s leaves in order to find the first blue buds… And, it’s a yearly competition to show the first photo on facebook or instagram…

Sweden and the other nordic countries are rather cold places, so when Spring arrives with the light and warmer temperatures – our first flowers are always the most loved ones.

While the blue anemonies grow rather scarcely and are more of solitaires – the white wood anemonies fill the whole forest with their little faces turned towards the sun – just like we do. They bring out people of all ages to walk in the forest and admire the magic.

As you probably know, wild flowers and grasses have a special place in my heart. In my garden I have many wild summer flowers, and not only for the insects – they are for me too. I love their delicateness, often in contrast to the bigger and sturdier cultivated flowers.

Among cultivated flowers, Miss Willmott’s Ghost is a favourite of late, I just love the silvery whiteness and its sharp needles – and the story of course. How Miss Willmott loved this plant so much that she secretely spread it everywhere in people’s gardens…

The colour of plumbago is heavenly. Ever since I saw the first one, in my teens, in a little village somewhere in the Mediterranian, I was caught. Finally I can have this beauty at home, as my glasshouse makes it possible for it to survive winter temperatures.

And then, one of the strangest flowers…

Callistemon – or bottlebrush. It was love at first sight, 1986 in Nepal. I brought home a twig and made it live, but coming back from one of our travels I found it had died. I have bought several ones over the years, just to see them die during winter, but now they survive happily in the glass house.

Asters are the last ones to flower before winter, and that is a good reason to love them, because they have to endure cold and rain, frost and sometimes snow. Sorry to say, they don’t look this brilliant in 2022. We have had too much rain and too little sun this autumn.

I guess this is what is left before winter, a much appreciated plant firing away its last flames of autumn. It’s even clinging to my washing line – so, no clean wash there right now…

If you love a flower which happens to be on a star, it is sweet at night to gaze at the sky. All the stars are a riot of flowers.
― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

For winter then? Well the only flower growing here then is…the frost rose. I don’t know what you call them – if you have them where you live – but my grandmother always said they were frost roses. I wonder if there will be a renaissance for them in our homes this winter…?

Now we are looking forward to seeing your favourite flowers and plants – and don’t forget the stories (if there are any) – I know it will be a colourful and interesting parade! Please link to my original post and use the Lens-Artists tag.

Sincere thanks to Patti for a marvelous challenge that really got us testing and thinking over our photography. I think we all learned something from each other!

Next week Amy will be our host, so be sure to visit her amazing site for inspiration and details! Until then, stay safe and be kind.

194 reaktioner på ”LAPC 221#221 – Flower Favourites – and Why?

  1. Found three months later when still vetting mail from the long period I spent in hospital! How utterly beautiful . . . you brought my early childhood into my eyes and heart . . . I remember those fiends of white anemonies in Estonia also . . . a fairytale then as it is now . . . . hugs

  2. Stunning flowers! I love how you show many flowers from different perspectives and I especially like the perspectives of your blue anemone photos. The frost roses make for a winning shot for me too. They are gorgeous.

  3. Thank you Leya for this extraordinary and beautiful flowers. I am delighted to see other entries because I had a glance of different kinds of amazing flowers. I just hope I can have the magnolia flower in our place.

  4. Pingback: Lens Artists Photo Challenge # 221: Favorite Flower, and Why – Kanlaon

  5. Pingback: Sapporo, Japan: Chocolate Fantasy at Shiroi Koibito Park – SPACE STORIES BY GIFT

  6. Pingback: Favourite Flowers – And Why – Susan Rushton

  7. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221 – Favourite flowers – nowathome

  8. Pingback: LAPC #221: Flower Favourites, and Why? | WordsVisual

  9. Pingback: LAPC #221 – Flower Favourites | The World Is A Book...

  10. Pingback: My Flower Favorites and Why | The Day After

  11. Pingback: Wet Rose | What's (in) the Picture?

  12. Pingback: ~ Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221: Flower Favourites – and Why? ~ | Lindy Low LeCoq

  13. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221 – Flower Favourites and Why | Murtagh's Meadow

  14. This is totally exquisite Leya.I am really a great fan of your photographs and this one is no exception. My favourite from this gallery is the bottle brush, I´ve seen them more often in Asia and i believe its tropical´. And that wild fire plants–we have them all over here as well and they are just a sight stealer here.

  15. Pingback: Favourite flower and why – Underdown

  16. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221 – Flower Favorites and Why – Journeys with Johnbo

    • So glad you liked this, and I know the bluebells often show up in spring posts – they are wonderful. Your favourites are mine as well – orchids. A marvelous gallery!

  17. Pingback: Orchids — Lens-Artists Challenge #221 & FOTD – Photos by Jez

  18. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221 Flower Favorites – and Why? – A Photo's Worth

  19. Pingback: Flower Favourites and Why? – Lens-Artists Photo Challenge – Cee's Photo Challenges

  20. Pingback: Hung Up on Common Flower Names – Nes Felicio Photography

  21. Love so many of your favourites and the why of them is so interesting. I suppose that any country with winter would always prefer the spring flowers – I know I do. In Vancouver we tend to have the opposite weather from Scandinavia; we had a horrible wet spring that lasted all the way into early July but in mid-October we are in the middle of an endless summer. And the asters are amazingly abundant this year, masses of purple. Your macros are always astounding – and I too am in love with the bottlebrush flower.

    • I am glad you liked them! Interesting about the opposite weather too. Great your asters are abundant this year – so are mine, but the rains have all but destroyed them already… And another bottlebrush lover – yay!

  22. Pingback: Favourite Flower (Gardens) – Batz Gallery

  23. Pingback: LAPC #221: Flower Favourites – and Why? – 40thousandkm

  24. Pingback: Blooms To Swoon For | Out of My Write Mind

  25. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge – Floral-tastic – Blog of Hammad Rais

  26. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge – Floral-tastic – Blog of Hammad Rais

  27. Pingback: Floral Emotions | Stuff and what if…

  28. Pingback: Walking on Elephant’s Head – Don't hold your breath

  29. Beautiful photos. The bottlebrush used to be a winter flower in my mother’s garden in north India. In a few months Magnolias will start blooming on the lower slopes of the Himalayas. I’m surprised that they find it a struggle in Sweden; unless my memory is false, I’ve seen them growing well just south of the Baltic. All the rest of your favourites may find the temperature here too warm, although I find several kinds of anemones in the Himalayas.

  30. Pingback: Why are these my favorite Flowers? LAPC #221 – HorseAddict

  31. hello a. c.,
    a very interesting theme you have chosen for this one, it will not be easy, have thought about the why ? all the pictures are fantastic and each have something special for themselves
    here is my contribution to the challenge, https://wp.me/pdALlZ-85.

    many greetings robert

  32. Pingback: lens-artists photo challenge – favourite flowers and why – photo roberts blog 2

  33. Pingback: My Kind of Purple Flowers – My Camera & I (2)

  34. Like you I love magnolias and ours last just a little longer than yours, it seems. But we don’t have anything quite like those gorgeous anemones. The purple ones are glorious and I love how the white ones carpet the ground. I guess our equivalent would be the bluebells that everyone flocks to the woods to see. I don’t have any of those in my post but I have (fairly unusually for me) chosen to concentrate on my own country in a vain attempt to restrict the number of flowers! https://www.toonsarah-travels.blog/gallery-some-favourite-english-flowers/

    • I love it that you chose your own country for flowers, that makes it even more interesting. I know about the bluebells, in spring English bloggers post a lot on them! They are beautiful and they also cover the forest floor.

  35. Pingback: Gallery: some favourite English flowers - Travel with me

  36. Pingback: The Power of Yellow – From Pyrenees to Pennines

  37. Pingback: Kōwhai | Middleton Road

  38. Pingback: Seasonal Favourites – Beyond the Window Box

  39. Pingback: Favourite Flowers – And Miles to go before I sleep…

  40. Pingback: {Now In Blossom} LAPC #221 – Cath's Camera

  41. Pingback: Blooming Cluster | Stupidity Hole

  42. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge – Favorite Flowers | The Nature of Things

  43. Pingback: Blooming Peonies – From Hiding to Blogging

  44. Pingback: Special flowers: LAPC - bend branches

  45. So sorry Ann-Christine, I thought I had already commented on this wonderful challenge. I enjoyed preparing my post, going through my archives. Your photography was certainly an inspiration. Great challenge and beautifully photographed.

    • Thank you, Anne! No worries…I am terribly late in answering too. Every member of our family (almost) has his or her birthday in October, and I had a photo exhibition too. A bit stressed out.

  46. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221 – Favorite Flowers | AEKShots

  47. Pingback: LAPC #221: Flower Favorites – P.A. Moed

  48. Pingback: lens-artists: flower favorites – A Journey

  49. Pingback: a year of flowers – Cornwall in Colours

  50. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221: Flower Favorites and Why – This is Another Story

  51. Pingback: Sunday Stills: Life is Made Up of #Fleeting Moments – Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

  52. Dear Ann-Christine,
    thanks a lot for sharing these pictures of flowers. We just have quite some plants flowering in our garden right now. But we always have problems with the names. We got an app but our gardener told us that we can’t trust it. Well, we don’t mind, we just enjoy our flowers.
    Have a happy day
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • I am glad you enjoy flowers – and enough to use an app. I have three apps for plants and flowers, and I think most of the times I try it, I finally know the name of the plant. The apps give some alternatives, and then you just have to use your sharpest eye and common sense for comparison!

      Lucky you having flowers still!

      ♥♥♥♥

  53. Pingback: Hot Coffee with a Sigh of Relief – Marsha Ingrao – Always Write

  54. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #221: Favorite Flowers – Calling-all-RushBabes

  55. Pingback: There may be flowers – bushboys world

  56. Truly incredible examples of your favorite flowers, Leya! I LOVE that white ghost flower! Your spring is a lot like ours in Eastern Washington–a big celebration when the spring flowers arrive after the snow melts! I already had a few flowers in a gallery for my Sunday Stills post for Sunday morning (theme: fleeting moments). It will link then. Thank you for hosting!

  57. I love those blue anemones, we don’t have them over here in Belgium. It’s an awesome shot you made of them !
    Lovely to see some spring flowers, now that we are in mid autumn and preparing for winter.

  58. I love your flowers ever so much. No favourites as I just love flowers of all shapes and types. I am thinking of what to post and it will be hard to not do a flower over load 🙂

  59. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge#221 – Flowers – Flights of the Soul

  60. Ann-Christine you have set us the most beautiful challenge. And your own examples are just stunning. Thank you for sharing

  61. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge: Flower Favorites and their stories | scillagrace

  62. Magnificent floral photography Ann-Christine, that field of wood anemones is sublime. Are the blue ones Hepatica? I once tried growing them here, but wasn’t successful, they are such a gorgeous blue colour. I shall have to have a think about this one, can’t possibly match your images though.

      • Always! I just thought you might not be able to choose – or I hoped you wouldn’t…and send us abundantly instead! Thank you!

    • Jude, thank you – so glad you liked the flowers, and I agree on Hepatica – a wonderful colour. I have some in my garden as well, and the ants move them around, so I find them in new places every spring! I haven’t planted them though, they grow in the wild part of the garden. Looking forward to seeing your flowers and hearing your stories!

    • Thank you, Sofia – hard choices to make for me…and I guess for many of us! I just read your post – wonderful as ever. And I believe you filled in my missing flowers and shared dreams. I had some lovely memories coming to me from your words and images as well. Thank you for that too.

  63. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge: Flower Favourites and Why – photographias

  64. Pingback: LENS-ARTISTS CHALLENGE #221 – Flower Favourites – and Why? – John's Space …..

  65. Just when everyone is wooing over autumn, you open the door to the brilliant colors of ”all year long”. I love the way you presented your challenge. And the why’s that go with it. My favorite was the white wood anemonies. I agree, we all just love the warm sunshine. I love that you love the bottle brush. When I first moved to Arizona I remember thinking it was so different, I had to have one. They thrive here in the desert and are shrubs that need to be cut back frequently. Fun for me. And I often play with their bloom time in hopes they bloom during Christmas.

    I have way to many favorites and have a million reasons why. lol. I will join you later in the week. On our way to Joshua Tree National Park. Could it help me narrow down? Probably not. lol Have a good week. Enjoy the splatter of colors from around the world…

    • Thank you for your thoughts, Donna! Narrowing down? I regretted choosing this challenge for some minutes there… I think we all appreciate the loveliness of flowers – any time of the year, any time of the day. I am glad you loved the white wood anemonies, and I didn’t know the bottlebrush was that common in Arizona! I always learn new things from blogging and bloggers, and that is only one thing I love about it…
      Looking forward to seeing your choices!

  66. I am most happy we are not in a competitive situation with our blog posts Ann-Christine, as I believe first prize would surely be yours! Your images are magical and your knowledge and appreciation of nature’s bounty is well beyond my reach! Your asters and the ghost are my personal favorites, along of course with the magnolias. So looking forward to seeing our followers posts this week – we will be amazed I know by the beauty to come from your marvelous challenge. My response is here https://travelsandtrifles.wordpress.com/2022/10/15/lens-artists-challenge-221-favorite-flowers/

    • You are too kind, Tina – I truly loved your post and the collage was a dream ! I too look forward to letting my eyes rest on all the beauties from our followers!

  67. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #221 – Favorite Flowers | Travels and Trifles

  68. The most exquisite flowers ever! Not sure how you do it- purely from love, I think. Impossible to compete with my little crimson bougainvillea. Glad you can hold on to all that beauty in your glass house.

  69. What a magnificent set of photos, A-C! My heart is filled with joy at seeing them. I too love ice flowers but I don’t see them in Arizona. 🙂 I love the shot of the wood anemones as it reminds me of walking through the wildflowers in Illinois. We have bottlebrush here too and I love the magnolia photo. Thanks for the beauty!

    • Thank you, Dawn! One of the advantages again, with blogging! We get to know about other countries and their nature, other people and their nature.

  70. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge 221: “Flower Favourites – and Why?” – MyBlog – solaner

  71. Aaah, excellent! That eryngium (MissWilmott’s Ghost) features! Yay! And I’m with tou on a loving magnolia’s, apple blossom and for me, cherry blossom

  72. Oh Ann-Christine, what a beautiful floral post. I think you are going to have a fun week and see some incredible flowers. 😀 😀 No doubt I’ll be back. Thanks so much for hosting 😀

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

Denna webbplats använder Akismet för att minska skräppost. Lär dig om hur din kommentarsdata bearbetas.