Thursday Thoughts – Papirsclip

We visited the Museum for Paper Art in Blokhus, Denmark. We hadn’t planned to, as we didn’t know it was there – but it opened in 2018 and is the only one of its kind in Scandinavia. Who can resist it? I have made so many paperclips over the years – as a child, and then with my own children too. I hope they will pass it on to new generations too.

The main exhibition was from the art of Bit Vejle – a famous psaligrapher with exhibitions all over the world. Right now she is in the US with a Chinese Dragon show.

She cuts everything by hand, with a pair of sharp scissors. The big oval with the tree measures 3×2 meters – the details are amazing. There was also a workshop for those who wanted to let their inner paper artist loose!

Bit Vejle is based in Norway, but was born in Denmark. She and her daughter were the founders of the museum.

In the header you see a paper theatre – a much loved art form in Denmark. Even the Danish Queen has made backdrops for some theatres, and she has played herself as well. She is a very talented woman, who, among other things, writes books and paints.

43 reaktioner på ”Thursday Thoughts – Papirsclip

  1. What a wonderful place to visit. The art on display is incredible. I remember reading that Hans Christian Andersen loved to do paper cutting. He used scissors as well as a pen to tell. his stories.

  2. I’ve never seen anything like this before, it’s absolutely amazing. It must require great skill and concentration

  3. How absolutely fascinating and different and beautiful !! Am off to ask Mr Google to tell me lots more ! Yes, I do remember doing this as a child being totally fascinated by the results one achieved. Not surprised that Her Majesty Queen Margrethe enjoys this . . . I have really come to admire the lady since beginning to follow the Danish Royal Family – ‘our’ Crown Princess Mary naturally coming from Tasmania . . . am off to suggest this to others . . .

    • Yes…my own paper clips I loved, but had I seen these ones … maybe I would have tried to learn more difficult patterns and ways of getting there.

  4. Dear Ann-Christine,
    thank you very much for taking us to this museum. What an art that is to cut paper that exactly. Siri 🙂 and 🙂 Selma now want to try to cut paper like this as well. Well …
    Wishing you all best. Keep well
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Thank you, Klausbernd, Siri and Selma! I hope you enjoy your cutting! I always did as a child, and marvelled at the results when I unfolded the paper. Because that was the way we did it – folded and folded again – cut in some places and – then the wonder is ready to be revealed!
      All the best for the weekend,
      Ann-Christine

  5. Thanks, for the reminder. I saw a travel documentary a couple of months ago, where they introduced us to it. Astonishing, what some people can do with only paper and scissors

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

Denna webbplats använder Akismet för att minska skräppost. Lär dig om hur din kommentarsdata bearbetas.