Varekai – Cirque du Soleil

Ever since I first saw Cirque du Soleil on TV…I have wanted to see them. And I did, some years ago. And, I was not disappointed.

This year they were back in Malmö, with astonishing Varekai – Tales of the Forest. With that title, I was already mesmerized. And the story of Icaros is a story I read as a child as well as a grown-up. These old stories always teach us about life – and for making the story come alive, I cannot think of a better way than this – Cirque du Soleil!

Cirque du Soleil 010_copy

https://www.cirquedusoleil.com/varekai

No flash or filming allowed, so these are the posters, and in the header, the scene before opening. The Forest, dense with trees, and the staircase leading up to a path under the ceiling.

Icaros falls to the ground, in the Forest on top of a volcano. All the creatures living here…can make anything happen…

Founded in 1984 in Canada, they tour the world every year and their success and their prizes are innumerable. If you have not seen them before…I urge you to go. It is the  ultimate art performance. The ultimate dresses, make up, music, acrobatic stunts, stories and… Life!

 

9 comments on “Varekai – Cirque du Soleil

  1. I saw their performance of ”O” in Las Vegas. It was literally the best thing I’ve ever seen. I refuse to go to another performance because I’m afraid it couldn’t possibly live up to my expectations!!!

    • Well…I have seen two, and this last one was better than the first one. But I see what you mean. I believe this last performance was the best I have ever seen. They always perform at maximum talent and beauty!

  2. Åhhh… så fantastiskt! Det hade jag mer än gärna sett. Till Malta lär de inte komma så jag är glad över att få ta del av det du visar.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

