WPC: Heritage

For more heritage – click here.

My grandmother could mend any damaged or wanting tree or bush in her large garden. Anything touched by her loving hands would live and flower again.

This may be a simple pelargonia, but a living heritage from my beloved grandmother. She treasured her flowers very much, and used to get cuttings from old friends and relatives. I inherited all grandmother’s pelargonias, about 15 plants, and I am proud to have preserved them for 30 years now. This particular white one was her favourite – White Mårbacka. I have also got a powerful red one and from the start I also had an orange variety. Sadly, I have lost that orange one – I hope she forgives me…

Mormors vita Mårbacka

She had these plants in all her windows, and I learned, already as a little child, how to prune them and plant cuttings. My guess is that these flowers date back at least 60-70 years, or more. A living remembrance of my grandmother, Signe. I talk to them and think of her.

24 comments on “WPC: Heritage

    • Thank you, Paula – I treasure them very much. I feel my grandmother’s caring spirit every time I water them. I cannot bear losing a single one…so I now have more than doubled them 💚

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

