Thursday Thoughts – An Eternal Love Affair

My lifelong relationship with books and literature makes me visit every library I come across. Going to Dublin meant I would be able to visit one of the most fantastic libraries I know of –

Trinity College, Dublin – I had seen the Long Room in some photos before – and of course the Book of Kells. This old library makes a perfect Harry Potter setting….and already walking through the gates, into campus, sent pleasant electrical shocks along my spine… Soon I would enter the magic…

Irland 2017 363_copy

The long Room is the main chamber of the Old Library, and is nearly 65 metres in length, housing around 200,000 of the Library’s oldest books. It also contains the oldest surviving harp in Ireland.

Just to the left of the Shakespeare bust, is the magnificent spiral staircase. And then –

22 comments on “Thursday Thoughts – An Eternal Love Affair

  1. Wonderful impressions from Trinity College and the Long Room, Ann-Christine. We visited Dublin and the long room five years ago, unforgettable!

  2. What an amazing library – I have never been inside and your photographs really capture the atmosphere. If you haven’t been there yet, you might enjoy The Linenhall Library in Belfast too. It is a wonderful place to spend some time reading and writing ☺

    • I am sure you could. I would have loved entering this room all alone…but managed to get some of the feeling despite all the people there. You feel so small and insignificant…and that is a good feeling. Like you say, surrounded by life, history and knowledge. A bit like entering the open gate to Machu Pichu.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

