Travel theme: Walking

My first thought is of course my every day dog walking. Walking is also one of my absolute favourite things to do. But, I just have to share this amazing, graceful creature with you.

galapagos-3-and-4-558_copy1

Have you ever dreamed of ,or wished, you could walk on water? I thought I only knew of one…who maybe could do that….

But, at sea, swirling around our sailing ship in the Galápagos, I saw this wonder with my own eyes. It is an Elliot’s Storm -petrel. I took hundreds of shots…but only a few shows clearly enough this amazing bird’s abilities – it walks, runs and stands on water.

galapagos-3-and-4-552_copy

The story of this Storm-petrel is enigmatic as well…It is pelagic, and feeds while fluttering and pattering on the water with wings raised. …”…endemic subspecies galapagoensis. Population estimated at many thousands and although a nest has yet to be found in Galápagos, breeding is suspected to occur between April and October. Conservation Status: Data Deficient.” (Birds, Mammals, and Reptiles of the Galápagos Islands. An Identification Guide by Andy Swash and Rob Still.)

25 comments on “Travel theme: Walking

  1. The skill to capture with pictures, what I would have observed and forgot to even take a picture of, at the time, never fails to thrill and astound me – for, I could write a massive, multi-thousand post about all the thoughts and emotions that went through me as I witnessed the scene – but could I capture it, to share, nicely, with others? Nope – not in a million years – unless someone surgically implants a Go Camera in my brain – – LOL – I SOOO VERY MUCH LOVE how you capture in the world, what I see, but cannot share – 🙂 (Full disclosure – Um, no, I couldn’t share the above even equipped with implant – it requires massive travel from my 50 mile radius – right? LOL)

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

