Thursday Thoughts – The Black Cat

The gracious black cat immediately came up to me. And he would not leave me alone.

No, he did not want to…

In Western history, black cats have often been looked upon as a symbol of evil omens and friends of witches. In Sweden, as in most of Europe, a black cat is considered a symbol of bad luck, especially if one crosses paths with a person, which is believed to be an omen of misfortune and death.

But the folklore surrounding black cats varies from culture to culture. According to Wikipedia, The Scots believe that a strange black cat’s arrival to the home signifies prosperity. In Celtic mythology,  a fairy known as the Cat Sìth takes the form of a black cat. Black cats are also considered good luck in the rest of Britain and Japan. A belief I would like to argue for, is that a lady who owns a black cat will have many suitors… 

Detta bildspel kräver JavaScript.

I find black cats extremely attractive to the eye…but sometimes they have a menacing look, don’t they? My students were always treated to Edgar Allan Poe’s short horror story The Black Cat. Read it if you haven’t already – it is a classic.

For more facts about folklore and superstition about black cats, click here.

25 comments on “Thursday Thoughts – The Black Cat

  1. Gorgeous photos of the cat, Ann Christine. I always believed black cats to be lucky. I remember that when I was a bridesmaid as a child, a black cat came and sat on the bride’s long white veil which was trailing on the ground. It made for a lovely photo.🙂

  2. Very nice shots of the cat in the sunshine, Leya. Its fur looks like its shining and glowing😀 I have to agree with you that black cats do have a menacing look about them – like a face that seems to find you suspicious. In Chinese culture, black cats are symbolic of hard times and poverty, not overly positive. I don’t like it when a black cat, or black cats in general, quietly and stealthy siddle up to me and scare me. They can move very quietly😀

    • They do move quietly – but they never scare me. I’m sure they are quite harmless. I had my own black cat as a child. When I started school after the summer vacation, he followed me on the road..and never came back. A childhood memory with many tears

  3. Vilka fina bilder, alltså, det går ju inte att låta bli att bli alldeles löjligt fånig på rösten när man ser såna här bilder på en så söt katt. Inte helt lätt heller att få till så bra bilder på en svart katt.

    • Den ville bara inte sluta kela, och solen sken starkt på den. Jag håller med om att det brukar vara jättesvårt. Den här blev det många överexponerade bilder på i den starka solen. Tack för att du tycker att de blev både ok och mer!

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

