Santiago de Compostela – The Goal for Every Pilgrim

What gave me most joy about Santiago de Compostela, was to see all the pilgrims arriving at  Praza do Obradoiro in front of the impressive baroque facade of the Cathedral.

spanien-1-och-2-595_copy

So much joy!

Then every pilgrim must attend the Pilgrim’s Mass. So, let us join the them and enter into the magnificent Cathedral,  built for S:t Jakob in 1000-1200 .

The ritual with the Botafumeiro has an interesting history…

So, this is the end of the pilgrim adventure for now – But maybe some day…

14 comments on “Santiago de Compostela – The Goal for Every Pilgrim

  1. Today I received news from a friend about the peace he found while walking the entire 800km. And your photos help me understand more about this incredible pilgrimage.

  2. Quite amazing. I was very surprised to learn what you said in a previous post, namely that the majority of pilgrims are not religious. As an non-religious person, I wouldn’t be so thrilled to stand through a mass at the end of such a long journey or kiss any statues.

    • Charlie, I hope you will do it some day! I am very much wanting to, but I will not be able to do the whole 800 kilometres. A week or two at a slow pace. There are possibiloties to get your heavy backpack transported and only carrying a day pack. Unfortunately my knees are not that good anymore.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

