The Winner Takes It All – Song of Roland

”I am watching your every step…”

Towards Pas de Rolande, where Charlemagne’s army was ambushed after the sacking of Pamplona – celebrated in the medieval poem, Song of Roland.

Along the road we met a herd of, what we believe was, Iberian wild goats. The gamey smell filled the air, and soon we saw them climbing the stony slopes up on our right side as well.

As they were rather close to the road, about 5-10 metres up, we could study them roaming the bushes, popping up a head every now and then.

We reached the rock formation in the gorge. According to legend, the gap once was created by Roland’s horse.

On my way back, alone, (my husband went back before me) the strong smell from the goats appeared again. And, I was lucky to witness this piece of wild life -love life!

”Well, I have seen it before…and in my  younger days I would…

…win all of those fights…”

31 comments on “The Winner Takes It All – Song of Roland

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

