Thursday Thoughts – The Beach

Sometimes strange things happen…like a jigsawpuzzle everything just fits in, and you experience a picture you thought you would never see…

…or be able to walk into. This happened to us this July, on the north coast of Spain. We had booked a hotel for the night, and had checked our guide books as usual – nothing special here in Santiago de Reinante…

But, I got a hint from a leaflet I saw at the hotel…that maybe we should go down to the beach. A square of 2×2 cm pictured Catedrales, a very special beach it seemed…

We soon realised that a permission was needed to walk the beach – it is a UNESCO World Heritage! Nothing, absolutely Nothing in our books had us prepared for these magnificent views.

My heart sank, maybe we would have to stay on the cliffs and not come down…But, there were very effective assistants on the steps down, and they helped us getting the permit via Internet – so,  we were two of the 4000 people allowed on this beach per day. My heart jumped and beat so hard I could feel it in my throat. This was so unreal…How could there be ebb as well? How could we be so lucky?

We walked for hours and hours…endless kilometres…trying to savour this moment as the precious gift it was. Unbelievable. This was not happening…

I never wanted the sun to go down, never wanted to leave this magnificent world…

Spanien 1 och 2 847_copy

But finally the sunset had to come, and the night closed in. I cannot say how grateful I am for this evening gift. Pictures cannot convey …my deepest feelings.

I wish you all such wonderful and unexpected gifts – and a good night!

 

More facts and photos on this beach at Albatz Travel Adventures.

30 comments on “Thursday Thoughts – The Beach

    • Tack så mycket, Dan. Jag tog en fyra fem bilder innan de dök upp…! Och den bilden blev den bästa på det motivet. Hela stranden var sagolik och jag har säkert närmare hundra foton därifrån. En av resans absoluta höjdpunkter!

    • Before I leave this wonderful post – one last thought. You are an amazing photographer – it’s the light and shadows dancing on the rocks/cliffs and water. You know the exact moment of day to capture these glorious scenes. Love your viewing diaries.

      • Mary – I am so overwhelmed of your words – thank you, thank you. I was only lucky! Everything was sheer luck – finding it, being ebb, getting permission – and the marvellous evening weather…once in a lifetime…

    • …and yet, my first view of the photos was a disappointment! It is not possible to capture that whole feeling. But today I feel rather good about them anyway. Again, I am so glad you liked them!

  1. What a marvelous experience, A-C, through your beautiful shots! Thanks so much for sharing it. I love the light in the very top photo and the second-to-last one, but I enjoyed all of them.

    janet

    • I am so happy you liked them, Janet! The whole experience was quite…overwhelming. Such things do not happen to me – and yet they did. So grateful!

    • Thank you so much, Cindy – really a highlight on our Spanish trip! Are you coming over next summer? To Sweden as well? If your program runs close to where I live…just give me a hint!

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

