P1040946_copy

Designers and Designs for Swedish Artists

Last week I went to a local museum to see a travelling exhibition with some of our famous designers’ clothes made for Swedish artists and singers.

P1040927_copy

Katarina de Bourg made the clothes for our young  Japan export – Yohio. His androgynous style is not as popular here as in Japan, where he is a big star. He is greatly influenced by the Japanese genre visual kei.

P1040928_copy

Yohio participated in Eurovision Song Contest 2013 and 2014.

P1040929_copy

Another colourful group is Army of Lovers, with their almost Arabian Nights – style.

P1040931_copy

Camilla Thulin is renowned for having designed all of Army of Lovers‘ outfits.

P1040938_copy

Thulin also designed Malena Ernman‘s gown worn during her Eurovision Song Contest 2009 performance (reported to have cost  37,471).

P1040932_copy

A much loved artist and singer from up north, Roger Pontare, is of Sami origin. He has represented Sweden twice in Eurovision Song Contest.

P1040943_copy

Sarah Mårskog successfully designed his shaman- inspired clothes.

P1040944_copy

Altogether an inspiring exhibition, where I picked some of my favourites for you. I hope you enjoyed them as much as I did.

23 comments on “Designers and Designs for Swedish Artists

  1. Very nice to see! I’ll never forget Roger Pontare’s appearance, when he sang “När vindarna viskar mitt namn”.

    He, who designed the costumes for ABBA, was from my hometown. I think he’s name was Sandström, if my memory serves me right.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

