Pilot Fish Trailblazer Nominee: Astrid Lindgren

Patti Moed over at Pilot Fish runs a series featuring Trailblazers from all over the world. I was lucky enough to get my nominee, Astrid Lindgren, featured! Do read about the other interesting trailblazers – some of them you may never have heard of.

Pilot Fish

This week’s guest blogger is Ann-Christine Påhlson, who is introducing our first Pilot Fish Trailblazer nominee from Sweden.   Ann-Christine, who is a marvelous photographer and writer, hosts the blog Leya.  Her nominee is the author of the book Pippi Longstocking, loved by children and adults around the world.

And so I write the way I myself would like the book to be – if I were a child. I write for the child within me. — Astrid Lindgren

Astrid Lindgren. Source Photo: Astrid Lindgren. Source: http://www.AstridLindgren.se

My children and I hopped on the Story Train at Junibacken in Stockholm about a dozen or so years ago, for a journey through the recreated, imaginary children’s world of the writer Astrid Lindgren. It was her own voice, so familiar, that guided us through the journey.

We listened to her stories, with lumps in our throats and tears in our eyes…

Junibacken, Sweden Junibacken, Stockholm, Sweden…

View original post 1 116 fler ord

12 comments on “Pilot Fish Trailblazer Nominee: Astrid Lindgren

    • Fantastic! I love your post, and the photo of you(?) is just lovely. I’m glad Astrid has meant a great deal to you as well! She will go on being important, I am sure.

      • Oh, yes, that’s me🙂 As I said, Pippi-head from the start. She is and will remain indispensable. Slovenians just got a new translation after all these years. I have yet to read it but I’m also afraid: sentences and phrases that I grew up on will sound completely different to new generations. I guess life goes on and it’s probably for the better.

  1. That image rather reminds me of my late departed mum…..when she was old and in hospital she had a room to herself (probably as wise as she was not the most sociable with strangers). The room had glass windows and folk would naturally look in, smile and sometimes give a wave…..Mum didn’t approve so when they passed she made a binocular shape (like the image) and just stare at the passers by…..that was when she was in a good mood, when she wasn’t she would stick her tongue out. She wasn’t in her second childhood but her third I guess! Thankfully most folk just smiled, laughed and made accommodations for her behaviour.

    • Well, we are not all alike, are we. Astrid always played around and spoke to everybody, especially children. Skinheads and nazis too…She believed in finding the good things in people – and she often used pranks as well. Even if she was 89…Full of curiosity and playing games. I admired her immensely.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

