Blomster Vinter och Böcker 108_copy

Saturday Snow and Sorting Out

To my great surprise, it was snowing heavily this morning. I knew it would come…but just two days ago I heard the lark had arrived. Always the same thing – get ahead of the others…it might work to your advantage – or not.

Blomster Vinter och Böcker 089_copy

I finished my prunings today, giving my pot plants (about 170 plants) new soil and a new life. I had a cup of coffee while contemplating their thankfulness.

Blomster Vinter och Böcker 119_copy

Time for the dog walk – should I forget, there is one young man here who is quick to remind me…so I had better call my mother it is time to go.

Blomster Vinter och Böcker 098_copy

A thin layer of white – and Totti is totally happy!

Blomster Vinter och Böcker 091_copy

Suddenly his nose went into the air…

Blomster Vinter och Böcker 094_copy

…and two deer gently sailed away between the trees.

Home again I started on the bookcases – a project I have wanted to start upon since long, but somehow never did. So many books…and so hard to sort out or throw away.

Blomster Vinter och Böcker 120_copy

Now I must do it. These are some of my old university studies…more than 30 years old. A photo at least before they go…surely to make room for others though. How I enjoyed reading them in those days! With all my notes and translated words inside, I went through them again, sitting by the fire. But, I’m sure I will never re read them. So, Goodbye, dear friends. Parting is such sweet sorrow…

I wonder, do you have the same difficulties …parting from old friends?

Blomster Vinter och Böcker 123_copy

27 comments on “Saturday Snow and Sorting Out

  1. Books are difficult to let go. But they are meant to be enjoyed and read, so there comes a time when we must let go. It helps if we know they will go to a good home.

  2. I love these photos, Ann Christine, and I love winter. We’re getting snow today. The forecast is for enough to be beautiful but not enough to be a problem. As for books, I have too many and have a very, very difficult getting rid of any of them. I did manage to get rid of my textbooks some years ago. 🙂

    janet

    • I believe many of us have difficulties here…When my program, the science program, moved from one building to another, I had to through away half of our library because of smaller space…My heart was almost torn out of my body…

  3. Ah, the pain of throwing out books! I necessarily had to cull when I moved, also lost a few on the way…your photo had me checking a few were still with me – pleased to see DH Lawrence and Waugh are still on my bookshelves! Old they may be, but they will stay…

    • Jo…min man hotar hela tiden att ta fram macheten…Vi har bara tre rum nere och ett kök…Där uppe har ungdomarna kvar sina rum eftersom de inte är klara med sina studier ännu och alltså inte flyttat definitivt och slutgiltigt. Så…det står bord vid alla fönster, plus piedestaler. Sen hänger en del plantor – framför allt orkidéer – i de stora franska fönster som vetter mot trädgården. Pelargoner övervintrar i källaren och sätts ut till sommaren. 170 blir det med alla stora och små.

      • Helt otroligt och så flitig du är som ger ALLA ny jord. Måste erkänna att mina inte fått ny jord på flera år, så de ligge kanske illa till fast det inte syns?

    • Och – slänga böcker är förskräckligt, men ingen köper ju och loppis får sitt…Jag försöker sälja på bokbörsen också. Mina barn kallar mig ”Böckernas skyddshelgon” eftersom jag alltid vill att man ska hantera dem råa ägg ungefär. De här som jag ska slänga är fulla av översättningar och understrykningar – omöjliga att ge bort…

  4. Christine, what beautiful photos again, I especially like to very top one with the heap of logs on the right side (they are for your house🙂🙂 ??) Your houseplants looks healthy, I have given up here, the heat is killing everything, I do miss our beautiful garden we had in UK.
    But, you nearly made my husband weep – to throw out books !!!!! ?We have around 5000 or so books, of which only half are Novels, – we slowly run out of space but Jo would throw anything else out (Joke!) but books. Give Totti a pat from me.

  5. Lycklig vovve som får springa i skogen och dessutom lite snö. Jag rensar ganska ofta både böcker och annat. Har flyttat så många gånger så jag har lärt mej.

  6. Helt underbara bilder!!! Här i Nordamerika verkar det inte vara lika vanligt med krukväxter inne — inte på samma sätt som hemma, och det finns inga riktiga fönsterbrädor heller, för den delen. Jag ska sätta om mina två Mose Stentavlor nu snart.

    Jag tittade på böckerna, och kände bara igen en författare som jag har läst; Saul Bellow. Inte samma bok, dock och jag har glömt titeln.

    Redan innan jag flyttade hit, till Kanada, så hade jag flyttat en hel del. Man blir ganska tränad i att göra sig av med saker och ting som ackumulerats … inte bara böcker. Det finns dock en hel del nerpackat i lådor, kvar hemma.

    • Jag tror det är klokt att flytta några gånger – man samlar på sig för mycket. Jag har bara flyttat två gånger, så…man kanske skulle…? Bellow är nog berömd för en annan bok…han fick Nobelpriset också.
      Intressant att man inte har krukväxter! Mose stentavlor hade jag som ung, men inte sett på många år. De är vackra.

  7. I had missed the weather report so for me the snow really came as a surprise. It is white all over again. I have my books from the unicersity left in my bokshells too, just for the reason it is hard to give up those kind of friends. Nice photos from your and Tottis walk.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

