Thursday Thoughts – Late

Slowing down means that I can have late, soft mornings if I like…but, I can also use the early mornings for hiking and reflecting.

Earlier this week there was an opportunity for a chilly, but sunny morning with no wind. I left my son at his job and went on to the wetlands I usually visit a couple of times each season.

The air was clear and cold, no wind, no sound.

I wondered if the birds had gone south all of them, or some would, like me, try to survive the harsh winter months. And…there they were…

When the fog lifted, I saw the cormorants – like old statues – sitting there, silently waiting.

When I was a child I was very fascinated by these spectacular birds…and I still am.

They are unreal, living statues…drying their wings.

Fascination. If you no longer can feel fascination or curiosity, I guess your life is… over.

When you look closer, but still cannot perceive the fog lifting or the morning light sifting through the leaves…

…when your first thought, walking through this morning forest no longer is: ”Why, this looks like powder snow!”…

…when you no longer stop to admire nature’s master weavers…

…or other little inhabitants on this Earth…

Then you are in danger of losing yourself…Your Self. I am so grateful I listened to my body and soul, realized where I was heading and took the consequences.

Think about it…Find your Self, do not lose yourself – if you have the possibility to choose.

Just think…this morning might not have been… mine.

18 comments on “Thursday Thoughts – Late

  1. Tina, you are saving yourself, day by small day, by losing yourself in nature and your feelings. What a beautiful morning and I’m so glad you didn’t miss the wonderful mist and cormorants🙂

      • Unfortunately, I am too tired to go out. Actually, I’m almost constantly tired, and when it is cold, I have a lot of pain. I look out the window and think: what a nice weather to photograph but do not have ork or desire to go out.

    • Oh, Janet – I love that you love solitary mornings and cormorants. I only wish I was more of a morning person than of a night person…

  2. What a lovely morning to enjoy Ann Christine ! Love the mist there … and your cormorant *statues .
    So true what you say too .

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

