Wind

Thursday Thoughts – A breathofgreenair

I have taken a year off, and tomorrow is, once again,  my birthday. So, Time is a tiny bit more on my side this year…even if in fact time is more on the ”running out” side…

Life is difficult, strange and wonderful. You never know what is waiting around the corner – no matter what your plans are. My intention is to use Thursdays for writing down some reflections made the current week…on anything that comes my way. I hope you would like to join me!

A whole year off – or forever? I don’t know anything but the need for slowing down. Maybe searching for the woman I once was… I used to paint and write poetry before the wheel started spinning too fast. Could I find my way back to… anything of what I once was? Maybe i don’t know what I will find. I will know more in August next year.

I read two posts on Seonaid’s blog this morning – breathofgreenair. Her posts always lift my spirits. She has that effect on me (and many others) – It’s the harmony, her way with words…and magical photography.

We met up in August last year, and in August again this year. From the start, I came to see the Tattoo, but deep in my heart I knew that for me, it was mostly to see Seonaid and her family again. To my great joy, she could have us for one day and one night.

Edinburgh is a great city, and I dearly love everything about it. Even in festival times, even if I’m not a real festival person…I used to avoid big happenings like parties and events. Somehow, as years go by, you are more or less forced to get used to them.

An hour or two is great fun, especially as Edinburgh city has got – Harry Potter!

I had two wishes, where the first one was a day out – to some of the beautiful places Seonaid weaves her stories around. Just to feel the atmosphere, letting her words come back to me. My second wish was to meet her lovely dogs again. My Bearded Collie, Amanda, left me in the year 2000, but I will never forget her. She was in colour just like Maisie and Willow. And her coat flying in the wind…

The fresh air against my skin and the joy of the dogs running free with the winds and waves…make me come alive and remembering.

I think we all enjoyed this, and I’m forever grateful to Seonaid and her girls.

It wasn’t that easy to get all three of them in the same picture – but here they are! Maisie, Willow and Molly.

Seonaid told me that on all beaches in Scotland, dogs are allowed to run free anytime of the year! Oh, the joy! In Sweden dogs are only allowed during winter time and for the rest of the year only on special ”dog beaches”.

Just before leaving Scotland, Edinburgh and this lovely family, we made a quick visit to the green oak forest as well. Of course the dogs found their way to cool water. This time floating in a river of sunny spots.

I cannot thank you enough for having us and giving us some of your precious time, Seonaid! I found a piece of my old self again, and I left a piece of my heart with you, your family and Scotland.

22 comments on “Thursday Thoughts – A breathofgreenair

  1. What a lovely post, Ann Christine. The photos are so lovely, especially that first one of Willow at the car window. Happy Birthday to you. May this next year of your life be a wonderful one for you and your family..🙂 xx

    • You are always encouraging and kind – thank you! I hope to find my way back to a more peaceful life. Nature and animals are medicine – and so are you and all my blogging friends!

  2. Such a touching post with heartfelt pictures, Leya. I absolutely love the one where the three dogs are together. They look like their own little gang, always there for each other.

    Happy Birthday, Leya. May it be a good one and sending lots of positive vibes your way. I’m no where near your age but I’m not a fan of big happenings. But once in a while is okay🙂

  3. Oh gosh, what a beautiful post Tina, and the pleasure was all mine. I had such joy sharing the beautiful earth and the dogs with such a warm wise soul. The image of Willow at the car window caught me by surprise in my reader, and then of course came a big warm smile as the memories flooded back. Your images are really beautiful…..the last one especially breath taking with that low soft evening light….
    You will of course be back again, I feel it for sure😀

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

