Rapperswil – The City of Roses (and no people…?)

Rapperswil is a small town with a medieval heart – a castle from the 11th century. We walked the famous Linden Promenade and visited the Kapucin monastery to inhale the rose garden…the whole town is immersed in the scent of roses from May to October.

The heat. I am not very heat tolerant and dogs in cars when it is 35 degrees C is not healthy. This girl was looking rather good though – her master and mistress was sitting in the car too with the AC running.

The entrance to the monastery was easily found – even if we didn’t meet any people to ask in the streets…Everybody was inside their houses.

Even the roses seemed to suffer, but they were still beautifully open and fresh.

Detta bildspel kräver JavaScript.

The Linden Promenade – deer, monastery and castle views.

Sticking close to the shade of the thick walls.

Chimneys are a passion with me too. And how about having a garden on top?

Still no people – not even tourists. Finally we found some people walking in the shadows close to the lake (Lake Zürich).

Still, such a strange sight – no people in this touristic village – but it was all due to the heat. This young man did the only right thing on a day like this!

23 comments on “Rapperswil – The City of Roses (and no people…?)

  1. Härlig bildberättelse. Fint att se hur du väver in vackra foton i berättelsen, bilder som blir reseminnen och samtidigt råkar vara temabilder. Visst 17 är de fina, den ena bra träffen efter den andra … sänk kraven lite😉 . Den enda som fick mig att fundera en sekund var hjortarna, varför herrhjortarna inte var i skärpa…men bara en sekund för fotot är så vackert och informativt ändå. Bra gjort att lyckas fånga dem och utan att störa dem. Och så har jag listat ut att det är Schweiz.

    • Tackar! Jag har inte sett att de inte var i skärpa faktiskt! Ska kolla. Många bilder på den här Schweizresan är i oskärpa, tyvärr. 14 dagar i 30-35 graders värme skärper inte till mig precis. Många gånger stod jag i skuggan och siktade in mig på hur jag snabbast och bäst skulle kunna fotografera det jag ville – med så kort tid som möjligt i solen. Faktiskt rann det av mig i ansikte, på rygg, mage, lår och – överallt. Jag är verkligen inte gjord för sådan värme utan en enda vind och utan möjlighet att ta ett dopp…Lyckliga de som klarar det utan bekymmer!

      • NÄr jag bodde i Australien vande jag mig, när jag reste hem tyckte jag att tempen skulle börja vid 30! Det var då, efter 1,5 år i tropisk sommar. Idag tänker jag helt annorlunda och gillar semestrar i kalla klimat. Fysiskt: Det tar några veckor för blodet att tunnas ut så man fixar värmen. Åker jag söderut idag är jag tomat i fejan första veckan … Hjortarna var enda bilden där jag överhuvudtaget såg oskärpa så bli inte för kritisk nu. Om du fotat från skuggan är ju kompositionerna ännu mer berömvärda, för då har du inte kunnat välja plats och ändå fått till snygga komp!

      • Du är så härligt positiv! Och visst stämmer det att man efter ett tag klarar värmen bra. Två veckor är dock för lite…
        …Och, hjortarna är fotade från skuggan.

  2. Leya, I thought I had your email address – please send it to me!? I like to tell you a couple of funny stories regarding some of the places you photographed in R. Thanks for your note btw. You would really have enjoyed ”La Scala” – super super food and a wonderful panoramic view and then of course, Pierro! The pigs were grazing by the water, just 1 minute away from the restaurant. No, no no – they did not belong to P., although we teased him a lot.

  3. Leya, what a lovely article and of course excellent photographs of a small town we used to visit quite frequently (family nearby) – if you like, go to my own website and see my article/photographs of Rapperswill. We never encountered the deer but pigs instead, and masses of people!!🙂🙂 Thanks for the memory. Carina

  4. Great lead up to the final photograph Ann-Christine – he certainly knows how to tame the heat! Wonderful place to visit with the abundance of roses, great shots!

  5. Vilken underbar liten stad. Älskar gamla byggnader och historia, måste ha varit väldigt intressant och mycket att titta på där. Men värme är inte riktigt min grej heller.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

