# 64 Farväl – Farewell (121/365)

Farväl – till vapnen. A Farewell – to Arms.

I Lund finns denna kopia av Reutersvärds berömda skulptur. En absolut favorit bland svenska konstverk.

Non-Violence is a bronze sculpture by Swedish artist Carl Fredrik Reuterswärd of an oversized Colt Python .357 Magnum revolver with a knotted barrel and the muzzle pointing upwards. Carl R. made this sculpture after singer, songwriter and peace activist John Lennon was murdered.

There are currently 16 copies of the sculpture around the world. An original standing outside the United Nations headquarters in NY.

http://www.adk.lu.se/se/index.php?id=371

23 comments on “# 64 Farväl – Farewell (121/365)

  1. For a moment I thought that you have been visiting Landskrona without telling me – because we have this amazing sculpture too outside the museum. Reuterswärd has also did the knot on the chimney Landskrona’s powert plant; Non CO2 in 2011. I love this piece too … so powerful. Missed in NYC, but I found Raoul Wallenberg monument instead. Great entry.

  2. I love that, and also Hemingway’s «A farewell to arms», which I’ve read many times.

    Took some pictures of it in Stockholm, but couldn’t get a clear shot — too busy a location. It’s outside the UN building in NYC, but I’ve never been there.

  3. I have seen the original sculpture when I went to NYC for the first time. Sadly I think the location of the sculpture is in the wrong place. It should be smack bang in the middle of the Security Council room.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

