Charlie, Paris, La France, Le Monde, L’Universe

”Je ne suis pas d’accord avec ce que vous dites, mais je me battrai jusqu’à la mort pour que vous ayez le droit de le dire.” Voltaire

(The Friends of Voltaire (1906))

”I do not agree with what you have to say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it.”

Voltaire (The Friends of Voltaire (1906))

”Jag håller inte med om vad du säger, men jag är beredd att gå i döden för din rätt att säga det.”

    • Detta citat brukar ofta felaktigt tillskrivas Voltaire. I själva verket skrevs detta av Evelyn Beatrice Hall under pseudonymen Stephen G. Tallentyre i Voltaire-biografin The Friends of Voltaire (1906), som en summering av Voltaires attityder som de uttrycks i Traktat om toleransen.

 

9 comments on “Charlie, Paris, La France, Le Monde, L’Universe

  1. This is dramatic and beautiful – but I don’t know if I would like anyone to defend my word that much. I can understand that you use quotes in your classes, so much to learn from them and so much good has been said. I’m a quote-freak as you know. *smile – this is the first time I read this. Do you speak French too ????

    • I took French for six years and was once quite good at it…but that was a very long time ago…Nowadays I can understand fairly well, but not speak…

      • A day in France and you will be back into it. I speak very little – tourist French … and it doesn’t take that long until I get on with it. Same with the little German and Danish I know. It will always be there. Love French and France outside Paris. *laughing

      • Yes, and I heard that the hostages were saved some of them and some of them killed. The two brothers were killed as well.

      • My God, what has the world come to – it happens everywhere now … A-C, at times I’m glad that I’m so old as I’m. Because I don’t think it’s getting any better.

Halva verket är läsarens - så, vad säger Du? As the second half is the reader's - I'd love to have Your line!

